New! SHOT 2022 prize in Race and Histories of Technology.

The Society for the History of Technology (SHOT) announced the newly established (2022) inaugural prize in Race and Histories of Technology.

This annual prize, awarded by the Society for the History of Technology (SHOT), recognizes outstanding scholarship that explicitly explores the multiple intersections and junctures between race/ethnicity and the history of technology. The prize is part of a collective commitment for addressing systemic and epistemic racism at SHOT and in the global intellectual field it represents. The prize is intended for junior scholars and new entrants to the profession worldwide.

The prize will be awarded for a single-authored, unpublished essay in any language that is of a length suitable for publication in Technology and Culture (T&C)– approximately 7,500 words (not including notes) and 100 notes. Candidates should submit with the manuscript, an one-page summary of the manuscript in English, which clearly outlines its key argument, its historiographic significance for the study of race and technology, and the sources and documentation upon which the argument is based.

The prize will consist of an award of $300, a certificate, and payment of the recipient’s economy-class airfare, accommodation, and registration expenses (up to $1700, against receipts) for the SHOT Annual meeting. The recipient will also receive mentorship to help develop the essay for publication in T&C, including assistance with translation if needed. The award will be presented at the Society’s annual meeting.

The deadline for submissions for the 2022 Prize is May 22, 2022. All entries should have been received by this deadline. Please submit your entry on via the online submission form.

For more, visit here. For any inquiries or remarks please contact

During this initial pilot phase, the prize committee will consist of SHOT’s new committee on REDI (Racial Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion).

SHOT-REDI Race and Histories of Technologies Prize Committee 2022

Gabrielle Hecht (chair)
Hyungsub Choi
Tiffany Nichols
L. Ruth Rand
Tiago Saraiva
Bess Williamson

No Comments Yet.

Leave a comment