Submissions for the 2021 St Andrews Article Prize in European Environmental History

The European Society for Environmental History (ESEH) welcomes submissions for the 2021 St Andrews Article Prize in European Environmental History

The prize rewards innovative and well-written article-length research in the field of European environmental history. Articles (or book chapters that are to be read as a stand-alone work) published in 2019 or 2020 on any subject in European environmental history, including Europe’s (post)colonial impact on the global environment, and in any European language, are eligible. We welcome applications from senior and junior scholars from all over the world, though some preference may be given to junior scholars.

The winner will receive a monetary award of EUR 500 as well as a travel grant (if needed) to attend the 11th ESEH Conference from 5-9 July 2021 in Bristol, United Kingdom. In case you need financial travel assistance to come to Bristol, please inform us in your submission.

Additionally, environmental historian and cartoonist Tomasz Samojilik has offered to sketch a ‘scientific cartoon’, a witty graphic summary of the winning article, given the authors’ consent.

In line with the diversity of interdisciplinary environmental history, we accept both single- and multi-authored manuscripts. In case of the latter, submitters must notify all co-authors of the submission. Nominations are limited to one article per main author. However, you can appear as a second or third author on other submissions. You can nominate articles by other authors but only if the authors agree to the nomination. Please note that the financial award is a fixed amount, independently of the number of authors.

Deadline for submissions is January, 15, 2021. Applicants are asked to submit their published article by email as a PDF to k.kalmbach[at] If the language of publication is not English, applicants should include a one-page summary in English. The winner will be notified by the end of April 2021.

Members of the 2021 St Andrews Article Prize in European Environmental History committee:

Karena Kalmbach (chair), TU Eindhoven (Netherlands)

Santiago Gorostiza, Centre d’Histoire de Sciences Po (France)

Charles-François Mathis, Centre d’Etude des Mondes Moderne et Contemporain (CEMMC), Université Bordeaux Montaigne (France)

No Comments Yet.

Leave a comment